National Science Day
Feb 28, 2019

Central University of Jammucelebrated National Science Day on 28thFeburary 2019 in Brig. Rajinder Singh Auditorium, DDE building, RahyaSuchani.This year’s theme was ‘People for Science and Science for People’.The objective of this day was to popularize science amongst the students and provide awareness regarding various achievements and developmentshappening at national and global level for the service of the humanity to improve living standards and quality of human life.Prof. A.K. Koul, Dean School of Life Sciences, Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University was the honorable Chief Guest for the event.

Honorable Vice Chancellor, esteemed Head of the departments, faculty members and students were present on the occasion.Professor S.K. Khosapresentedthe welcome address and familiarized the gathering of the current scenario of science in India.Keynotelecture was deliveredby Prof. A. K. Koulwherein he apprised and inspired the young faculty members and students of several past breakthrough achievements in science particularly by Indian researchers. HonorableVice Chancellor, Prof. Ashok Aima emphasized on the role of teachers in nurturing students in developing scientific temperament. He focused on the application of science in solving real time problems faced by local population.

Prof. S.K. Khosa was congratulated by all for receiving the Lifetime achievement award in sciences. Prof. B. S. Bhau (Head, Dept of Botany) presented the formal vote of thanks. Various students activities were conducted on this day like poster, debate and quiz competitions. In the student activities, Ms. Harsima Preet, Dept. of Botany, Ms. Asma Parvez, Dept. of Environmental Science, Ms. SunehaChambyal, Dept. of Chemistry, Ms. Sanchi Gupta, Ms. Sakashi Sharma, Ms. Aakansha Sharma, Dept of Botany won first prize in Poster, quiz, debate and model, respectively. Dr.Pawan Kumar and Dr.AudeshBhat received the best publication award in the Basic & Applied Science category and Life Science Category. Prof. N. K Tripathi, Dean Life Science, presented the formal vote of thanks.